Breakout Defensive Tackle Returning To FSU Football In 2024

The Seminoles get a boost on defense with the official return of one of the most talented players on the roster.

Florida State’s defense is quickly shaping up into a potential standout unit once again in 2024. The Seminoles have been able to retain some of their rising stars while shoring up various positions with an influx of talent through the NCAA Transfer Portal.

On Monday morning, redshirt junior defensive tackle Joshua Farmer revealed that he was staying in Tallahassee for another year, through an announcement with The Battle’s End. He’s developed into an all-conference defender with the Seminoles and is coming off a breakout campaign where he continued to display his vast potential.

Farmer was named Second-Team All-ACC in 2023 after totaling a career-high 32 tackles, seven tackles for loss, five sacks, one forced fumble, and two pass deflections. He was at his best in high-pressure situations as he tied for a season-high five tackles in Florida State’s road victories over Clemson and Florida.

The Florida native signed with the Seminoles as a three-star prospect in the 2021 class out of Gadsden County High School. Farmer has taken steps forward during every season he’s participated in at Florida State. He’s become a regular in the rotation over the past two years. Farmer has appeared in 30 games, with 13 starts, while recording 48 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, seven sacks, one forced fumble, and two pass deflections in garnet and gold.

Farmer will be the most experienced face returning on a talented interior defensive line that also includes redshirt junior Darrell Jackson, redshirt junior Grady Kelly, redshirt sophomore Daniel Lyons, redshirt freshman KJ Sampson, true freshman D’Nas White, and true freshman Jamorie Flagg.

Outside of Farmer, DE Patrick Payton, DE Byron Turner Jr, DT Darrell Jackson, DT Daniel Lyons, DT KJ Sampson, LB Omar Graham Jr., CB Azareye’h Thomas, CB Fentrell Cypress II, CB Quindarrius Jones, CB Ja’Bril Rawls, S Shyheim Brown, S Ashlynd Barker, P Alex Mastromanno, and K Ryan Fitzgerald have all announced they’ll return to Florida State since December.

RB Lawrance Toafili, RB Caziah Holmes, WR Darion Williamson, WR Kentron Poitier, WR Ja’Khi Douglas, WR Destyn Hill, WR Vandrevius Jacobs, OL Robert Scott, OL Darius Washington, OL Maurice Smith, OL Keiondre Jones, and OL Jeremiah Byers have announced their returns on offense.

Gideon Canice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *