Hamilton wins seventh F1 title and equals Schumacher’s record

Lewis Hamilton has clinched the 2020 Formula 1 drivers’ championship with three races to spare, winning the world title for the seventh time in his career.



The Mercedes driver’s achievement means he has equalled the record for most world championship victories scored by an F1 driver. His seventh title puts him level with Michael Schumacher, who set the record in 2004.


Hamilton won his first world championship four years after that, in his second season in the sport. He had to wait six years for his second, which came following his move from McLaren to Mercedes.


That move yielded back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015. Hamilton lost the 2016 crown to team mate Nico Rosberg by five points, who then retired from the sport, and Hamilton has won the last four titles since.


Schumacher also won his seven titles with two different teams. He scored back-to-back championships with Benetton in 1994 and 1995, then moved to Ferrari. After several near-misses in the late nineties, Schumacher took five consecutive championships between 2000 and 2004, surpassing the former record held by five-times champion Juan Manuel Fangio, which had stood since the fifties.



Gideon Canice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *