Tiger Woods sparked Masters rules storm with accidental admission but phone call saved him

A random phone call and an infamous post-round interview put Tiger Woods at the centre of a huge rules storm at the 2013 Masters.

 

Rewind 11 years and life was very different for Woods, who was healthy and highly-fancied to win a fifth Green Jacket.

 

 

Woods’ drop on 15 in 2013 is the stuff of legendCredit: Getty Images – Getty

 

But he would have to overcome career-threatening injuries and wait another six years for that 15th major after what happened on the 15th hole in round two.

 

World no.1 Woods was five-under and tied for the lead before a truly horrible break at the iconic par-5.

 

The American struck a beautiful approach shot from 87 yards, which ought to have set up a short-range birdie putt, but it was too good.

 

 

Woods’ ball cannoned off the flagstick and rolled back into the hazard, forcing him to take a penalty drop.

 

 

However, it was the following events which put the legendary golfer out of contention and at risk of disqualification from the Masters.

 

Woods took an improper drop and inadvertently admitted it in his post-round interview.

 

He had three options: use the drop zone, go back on line from where the ball entered the water, or drop as close as possible to the original spot.

 

But Woods did none of those things and later told ESPN: “I played it two yards back.”

 

 

Gideon Canice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *